• Who We Are

  • The Building Industry Association of Hawaii (BIA) is The VOICE of the Construction Industry. Together We Ensure Competitiveness and Growth of the Construction Industry in Hawaii.

     

    Mission Statement

    The Building Industry Association of Hawaii (BIA) is The VOICE of the Construction Industry. The BIA promotes our members through advocacy and education, and provides community outreach programs to enhance the quality of life for the people of Hawaii.

    Corporate Values

    BIA operates with the highest standards of integrity, stewardship, accountability, and innovation in all relationships with members, industry and community. BIA fosters a climate which encourages empowerment and diligence amongst members and staff.

    BIA's Promise

    BIA provides sales and marketing opportunities for your success.

    Privacy

    BIA-Hawaii makes every effort to safeguard the personal information of members and clients. 

  • 2021 Membership Directory

  •  


    Are you interested in building or remodeling a home? List your home project with us! We'll blast it out to our contractor members and you'll get bids!

    This Contact Form connects potential clients with our builder members.

    Rest assured, our members are licensed, bonded and insured. Why? Because here in Hawaii, we believe that the people you work with say a lot about you. We think home buyers should be protected. And we always want to embody three very important values: Integrity, Quality, and Trust.

    If you are in need of a contractor or you are thinking about buying or building a home, let our members be your first point of contact. 

    How it works:

    • Interested clients submit their project description and contact information to the Building Industry Association of Hawaii.
    • The BIA reviews the request and connects potential clients with the builders who match their needs.
    • After the client finds a builder, the BIA and the National Association of Home Builders (NAHB), provide additional resources for the next steps of your new home. 

     

  •  

    Professional Designees 

    BIA-Hawaii Members who earn designations from the National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) care about their professionalism and demonstrate a commitment to continuing education. To earn these designations, members must take NAHB-approved courses from a set curriculum and meet NAHB's requirements.

    NAHB offers targeted curriculum, accomplished instructors, and nationally respected professional development opportunities. The following are brief descriptions of designations that our members in Hawaii have earned:

    • Certified Aging-In-Place Specialist (CAPS): Teaches technical, business management and customer service skills essential to competing in the aging-in-place market.

    • Certified Graduate Builder (CGB): Emphasizes business and project management skills.

    • Certified Graduate Remodeler (CGR): Emphasizes business management skills as related to a remodeling operation.

    • Certified Green Professional (CGP): Teaches techniques for incorporating green building principles into homes without driving up construction cost.

    • Housing Credit Certified Professional (HCCP): Demonstrates a high level of knowledge, experience and education in the low-income housing tax credit (LIHTC) industry.

  •  BIA-Hawaii Member Designations 2022

    First Last Company Email Designation
    Jim Motonaga ADI Design Group Inc jim@adihawaii.com CGP
    Lili Shintani Alan Shintani Inc lili@alan-shintani.com  CAPS, CGP
    Clayton Nishikawa Architectural Designs & Const clayton@adcmaui.com  CAPS
    Ronald Takashima Aulii Construction Inc ront@auliiconstruction.com  CAPS
    Brett Kappelle Barker Kappelle Construction teri@barkerkappelle.com  CGP
    Brian Adachi BKA Builders Inc bkadachi@bkabuilders.com  CGP
    Curt Kiriu CK Independent Living Builders curtk@hawaii.rr.com  CAPS, CGR
    Greg Thielen Complete Construction Services greg@ccs-hawaii.com  CGP, CGR
    Dwight Mitsunaga DM Pacific Inc. dmitsunaga@pacarchitects.com   CGP
    Donna Walker DR Horton - Schuler Homes dmwalker@drhorton.com  CMP
    McKibbin Mist DR Horton - Schuler Homes rmmist@drhorton.com  CGP
    Young Dowell DR Horton Schuler Division foreveryoung57@hotmail.com  CMP
    Mary Larsen DR Horton Schuler Division mlarsen@drhorton.com  CMP
    Cyndie Smith Gentry Homes Ltd cyndies@gentryhawaii.com  CMP, MIRM
    Bonnie Osaki Graham Builders bonnie@grahambuilders.com  CAPS
    Evan Fujimoto Graham Builders Inc evan@grahambuilders.com  CAPS, CGP
    Ryan Graham Graham Builders Inc ryan@grahambuilders.com CAPS, CGP
    Lori Matsushige Homeowners Design Center lori@homeownersdesign.com  CAPS, CGP
    Randall Omoto Homeowners Design Center randallo@homeownersdesign.com CAPS, CGP
    Jessica Omoto Homeowners Design Center jessicao@homeownersdesign.com CAPS, CGP
    Marshall Hickox Homeworks Construction Inc mrh@homeworkshawaii.com  CAPS, CGP
    NameIvan Whitworth Island Cooling LLC info@islandcooling.com  CGP
    Michael Watanabe J W Incorporated Michael@jwinchawaii.com  CGP
    Michael Fairall Mokulua Woodworking mike@mokuluahpb.com  CGB, CGP, GMB, Master CGP
             

  • Code of Ethics

    As members in good standing of the Building Industry Association of Hawaii, we agree to uphold the following objectives:

    • To conduct business affairs with professionalism and skill.
    • To provide the best value possible.
    • To protect the consumer through the use of quality materials and construction backed by integrity and service.
    • To build and renovate with high standards of safety, sanitation and livability.
    • To meet all financial obligations on time.
    • To comply consistently with the spirit and letter of business contracts, and manage employees, sub-contractors and suppliers with fairness and honor.
    • To keep informed and to share knowledge regarding laws, regulations, proposed legislation, codes, public policies and other essential information which affect our business interest and those of the building industry as a whole.
    • To comply in both spirit and letter with the rules and regulations prescribed by law and government agencies for the health, safety and progress of the community.
    • To keep honesty as our guiding business policy.
    • To protect all parties in our business activities by putting all financial obligations and commitments in writing, expressing the exact agreement of the parties, and to provide such copies of such agreements in a timely manner to all parties involved.
    • To provide timely and appropriate response to items covered under warranty.
    • To conduct business so as to avoid controversies, and should controversy arise, to seek to resolve such controversies through a non-litigation dispute resolution mechanism.
    • To support and abide by the decision of the association in promoting and enforcing this Code of Ethics.


    We pledge our support to our associates, our local and national associations, and related industries concerned with preservation of legitimate rights and freedoms.

  •  
  • Platinum Corporate Sponsors